Church Bells

I thought it would be appropriate for my first blog post to be my wedding day. November 14th, 2015 was so beautiful, and I wish I could have multiple weddings in one lifetime. (oops, I guess some do..)  Not only did I get to be with everyone I loved, I married literally the best man I know.

We dated about 7 months before we were engaged, and married 4 months after that. I do not know how people plan for a wedding longer than I did. I can honestly say those 4 months were crazy and I will not miss that little piece of hell.

20151114_1536-copy

My dress was the hardest part in this short timeframe. SECRET: We had talked about getting married that fall, so I picked out my wedding dress before he even proposed to me. Okay okay I know some of you are thinking, “that is a little on the crazy side.” But if you know anything about wedding dresses, they take time. And hey, it worked out perfect!

20151114_1635-copy

20151114_1748-copy

Planning a wedding in the fall season in Texas is a gambling game. The weather can change from one little cold front blowing in or stay in the upper 80’s until the end of November. We had our ceremony outside and yes, it did start sprinkling. But thank you baby Jesus, it stopped in about two seconds during our group pictures. You can see in the groom and groomsman picture, the gray clouds were playing mind games with me.

I want to say to all the single ladies or soon to be brides, do not sweat the small stuff. I know the weather isn’t really apart of the “small stuff” but it is NOT WORTH IT. Enjoy your day with your loved ones and be gracious. I did snap on my mother once that day, sorry momma, and I deeply regret it. But I kept reminding myself, no matter what happens, I am marrying the man of my dreams at the end of this day. Rain or shine, flowers in or out of place, he will be mine and I will be his.

*Sidenote: families are crazy in real life, let alone when they start giving their two cents (yes people, your opinion is only worth two cents) about the wedding. Again, be gracious and understanding, or at least try to.

20151114_1952-copy

We decided to wait and see each other when I walked down the isle. Our poor photographer had a tough job because the sun was setting during the ceremony, so the group pictures after that had to be lightening fast. I know he wanted to take our couples pictures before the ceremony, but we just couldn’t bring ourselves to do it.

And we are still very happy with our decision. The moment I turned that corner and saw him tearing up, was one of the most memorable moments of my life. I wouldn’t trade that to have a book filled with posed pictures of us any day.

20151114_2091-copy

20151114_2233-copy

The rest of the night was bliss. Of course I didn’t get to taste the food we served, BBQ, but I only heard good things about it. (also I don’t think anyone would say bad things to you about your wedding, but who knows)

The cake was traditional wedding cake with raspberry filling. But it was the grooms cake that took the show! My lovely mother-in-law wanted to have her sons favorite cake for his wedding day. It was a 5 layered chocolate chip cookie cake! Yes you heard me, cookie cake. It was a crowd pleaser and I have been asked multiple times this past year where she bought it. ALBERTSONS. Alberstsons grocery store had a pivotal place in my wedding. Hey people, don’t judge it until you try it.

20151114_2509-copy

20151114_2513-copy

In the end I did get my handsome husband and who still to this day, chooses to love me. I wish I could remember more of that night but so much happened so fast.

Color Pallet: screen-shot-2016-11-21-at-4-47-37-pm

Photography: JEFF BENNETT

Floral: SHELLY STEEL

Decor: RACHAEL FRAIZER

2 thoughts on “Church Bells

Leave a Reply

